anyway.

2009-06-15 : Lazy Play vs IIEE with Teeth

IIEEteeth. Heh.

Here's my personal rephrasing of IIEE. For this thread you can take it as definitional:

In the game's fiction, what must you establish before you roll, and what must you leave unestablished until you've rolled?

In other words, what fictional stuff do you need to know in order to roll at all, and what fictional stuff should you let the roll decide?

Look familiar? It's what I've been talking about for the last 2 months. Fictional causes, fictional effects.

Here's a quick resolution mechanism.

1. We each say what our characters are trying to accomplish. For instance: "My character's trying to get away." "My character's trying to shoot yours."

2. We roll dice or draw cards against one another to see which character or characters accomplish what they're trying to accomplish. For instance: "Oh no! My character doesn't get away." "Hooray! My character shoots yours."

What must we establish before we roll? What our characters intend to accomplish.

What does the roll decide? Whether our characters indeed accomplish what they intend.

What do the rules never, ever, ever require us to say? The details of our characters' actual actions. It's like one minute both our characters are poised to act, and the next minute my character's stuck in the room and your character's shot her, but we never see my character scrambling to open the window and we never hear your character's gun go off.

Maybe we CAN say what our characters do. Maybe the way the dice or cards work, there's a little space where we can pause and just say it. Maybe that's even what we're supposed to do. "Always say what your characters do," the rules say, maybe. "No exceptions and I mean it." It remains, though, that we don't HAVE to, and if we don't, the game just chugs along without it. We play it lazy, and we get the reading-too-fast effect that Frank describes.